Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

brian
    Participant

This idea primarily is intended for traveling teachers. We all know what is happening locally, but it can require time and effort to learn what is happening in other communities. Do you research? Talk to local teachers? Check in with communities? Use other resources? Or do you just post your event, regardless of anything else happening.

Jacob Brown
    Participant

I check facebook before posting an event. I think it is bad form to make a workshop at the same time as another one in the same town.

Kendra Charts
    Participant

Yes to all of these! And it depends (as in the case if you are offering a retreat in an exotic location but, are inviting students who already learn from you and have built a relationship with).

As a traveling teacher I believe building relationships with the local teachers and community leaders while adding value to the community is essential. We are a guest in the Acro communities we travel to. It’s important as traveling teachers to respect that those who have built a local Acro community have dedicated immense energy, resources, and love.

Here are some tips that have allowed my partner Francis and I to build strong relationships with local teachers and keeps us getting invited back again and again to teach:

1) Have a referral first. For example, take the time to see if you have mutual friends and ask your friend to introduce you to get the conversation started.

2) Have material to give or show. Share it with the local teachers/community leaders. Also, share it on the local Acro community Facebook page.

3) It’s good to plan ahead. If you need help for location and promoting your event it’s best to not wait until the last minute.